lahadownload.blogg.se

How to install nvm on windows
How to install nvm on windows









how to install nvm on windows

All rights reserved. So right now, when I open a "command" window as admin, i can run Microsoft Windows but I need to be able to run nvm as my regular non priv. The problem is that nvm only works when I run a command window as my admin user. Windows prompts me for it and after I supply the creds, the setup completes without any issues. WHen I try to run the installer, I have to use my admin account. I downloaded and ran the latest installer from this repo: But to install things / admin stuff, I have to provide an admin account. Uninstall any existing versions of Node.js before installing NVM for Windows (otherwise youll have conflicting versions). When I do all my programming it's with my regular user account. Type the below command to verify if your nvm installation was successful.I need to install nvm for windows 10 and have it work for my admin profile and my non admin profile. Click on Install & once it completes, click on the 'Finish' button.Ĭonfirm that the 'NVM' successfully installed.

how to install nvm on windows

You should have the file nvm-setup.exe extracted in the same folder.ĭouble-Click on the executable file to launch the installer.Unzip/Extract the contents to the same folder.The Zip file should have been downloaded to your Downloads folder (or where ever you have configured your downloads to be saved).Using your browser navigate to the Git repository for nvm-windows located over here.Ĭlick on the 'nvm-setup.zip' link from the 'assets' table as shown in the image below. So, if you have installed Node.js, you'll have npm installed as well. It is a tool that allows you to install JavaScript packages. Node.js - It is a platform for running JavaScript applications. It allows you to pick and choose the Node.js version that you wish to use. It is a tool that allows you to download and install Node.js. So, feel free, to skip this section, if you are already familiar. I wanted to mention the following terminologies for absolute beginners. This article is more of a user guide for folks who are interested to install a Node Version Manager for Windows 10 Operating System. The reason I choose to do that is because I usually have to work with multiple applications that need require different Node.js versions, and using a node version manager (NVM) it is very easy to switch versions.

how to install nvm on windows

I usually prefer to use a Node Version Manager to install Node.js. I had recently purchased a Windows 10 laptop and I wanted to install Node.js.











How to install nvm on windows